Athleticism showcased at the Fall Sports Banquet

Family and friends gathered in Mullen gym having dinner provided by the Culinary Arts Club.

The Fall Sports Banquet was held on Nov. 7 at the Taft Union High School gym. All family and friends who attended in support of their athletes reported to the gym.

The families were invited to have dinner that was provided by Flaco’s Tacos and served by the TUHS Culinary Club. During the dinner, the TUHS Athletic Director announced Jackson Van Roekel as the boys’ Scholar-Athlete Award and Reagan Montgomery was awarded the girls’ Scholar-Athlete Award after the evening. He also took some time to point out Chase Cortez for his impressive sportsmanship. The sports teams were then separated for their individual awards ceremonies.

All three volleyball teams gathered in the cafeteria for their awards ceremony. Starting with the varsity team, five athletes received awards: Breann Bracken, Reagan Hamilton, Mariah Nevarez, Morgan Pulido, and Cherise Strong. Bracken received the Most Improved, Hamilton received, Die Hard, Nevarez received Top Defensive Player, and both Pulido and Strong received the Captain Award. Cherise Strong and Morgan Pulido were both chosen for the first all-league team. Mariah Nevarez and Chaydin Calbert were chosen for the second all-league team.

They were then were followed by the JV team with five athlete awards for the following: Keily Espinoza, Marline Figueroa, Linda Huerta, Gladys Valdivia, and Emma Waldrop. The Coaches Award went to both Valdivia and Waldrop, Most Improved went to Figueroa and Huerta, and the Captain Award went to Espinoza.

The last team to receive awards was the frosh/soph team, which had five athletes who received awards: Bailey Harrington, Tara Jarrahian, Marilyn Rodriguez, Alice Tauta, and Roslyn Tuaila. Both Harrington and Rodriguez received the Captain Award, Tuaila received Die Hard, Jarrahian received Most Improved, and lastly, Tauta received the Coaches Award.

The girls’ golf team gathered in Coach Cowan’s room after dinner to receive awards. Coach Charlotte Kidd passed out pictures and awards to the athletes. Everyone received two team pictures, taken by Gary Rennie, and a certificate for participating. Five athletes received awards: Isabella Martinez, Jazmyn Chavira, Tayler Portenga, Macayla Wells, and Briley Wheeler. Martinez received the Coaches Award, Chavira received Rookie of the Year, Tayler Portenga received Most Inspirational, Macayla Wells received Wildcat of the Year, and, last but not least, Briley Wheeler received Most Determined.

Taft High’s tennis players were given awards for their outstanding performance this season. Students, such as Callie Pittman-White from JV and Arelie Paz and Valerie Munoz on varsity received awards for most improved. Varsity players Diana Huizar and Kayleigh Pence were both awarded MVP.  Varsity player Jessica DeLaCruz and JV player Ana Solorzano were also awarded the Coaches Award. Angelica Brown of JV tennis was awarded Most Dedicated. Cielo Woggn was also announced team Captain at the event.

Taft High’s 2018 Wildcat football season came to a close at the awards banquet with family and friends together to support their Taft High Wildcat athletes. The JV Wildcats had an outstanding year with an overall record of 7-2 and their league record 4-1. Our varsity had a much rougher year though they started out strong with two wins. As the season went on, things started to wind down. The varsity’s overall record is 2-8 and their league record 0-6. The JV and varsity captains were awarded for their great effort and sportsmanship throughout the season. Captains for the JV were Chad Berry, Blake Boyd, Carlos Sillias, and Garrett Jeffries. For the varsity, the captains were Bryson Ginn, Jordan Miranda, Nicholas Vargas, and Jackson Van Roekel. But it takes a team to play. The JV and varsity teams were given letters for their dedication to their team and certificates of participation.

The cross county team departed to the staff dining room where the coaches gave awards. Coaches Hickman and Usrey gave awards to Sergio Cruz and Kimberly Rivera for Most Inspirational. Team Captain Presley Golling and Antonio Guzman received the Coaches Award, Anahi Saucedo and Carlos Villegas received Most Improved. Marimar Torres received the Captain and Coaches Award.

After dinner, the cheer team went to Mrs. Morris’s classroom to receive the awards. For the varsity team, Jeb Burke and Emma Neudorf received awards for being team captains. Robbi Caudle received an award for most improved.  Hannah Huckins received an award for most inspiring on the team. Lastly, for the varsity team, Hailey Steele received an award for being the most dedicated. For the JV team, Annika Arnold received an award for most inspiring. Katelynn Gomez received an award for most improved, and lastly, for the JV team, Allyson McKay and Emma Wooley received awards for being the most spirited.

Overall, the athletes all got a chance to be rewarded and receive some type of recognition.  The night showcased our athletes and their abilities after the end of the season.